PhilSci Archive

About the Archive

Administration and Support

Archive Board

Zvi Biener (Dept. of Philosophy, University of Cincinnati) June 2013 - Sept 2023
Nora Boyd (Dept. of Philosophy, Siena College) September 2018-August 2024
Julia Bursten (University of Kentucky) October 2020 - October 2023
Sina Fazelpour (Department of Philosophy & Religion and Khoury College of Computer Sciences, Northeastern University), July 2022 - June 2025
Joyce Havstad (Department of Philosophy, the Clinical and Translational Science Institute, and the Office of Research Integrity and Compliance, University of Utah), July 2022 - June 2025
Elaine Landry (Coordinator, PhilMath-Archive, ex officio, University of California at Davis) May 2017-
Sabina Leonelli (Dept. of Sociology, Philosophy and Anthropology, University of Exeter) December 2015 - November 2021
Edouard Machery (Director, Center for Philosophy of Science, University of Pittsburgh, ex officio; Dept. of HPS, University of Pittsburgh) September 1, 2016 -
Hanne Andersen (Governing Board, Philosophy of Science Association, ex officio; Science Education, University of Copenhagen) January 2019 -
Michael Miller (Dept. of Philosophy, University of Toronto) September 2017 - September 2023
John D. Norton (Dept. of HPS, University of Pittsburgh) June 2013 - 2023
Thomas Pashby (Dept. of Philosophy, University of Southern California) September 2014 - August 2023
Wendy Parker (Dept. of Philosophy of Science, Durham University) July 2018 - June 2024
William Penn (Dept. of Philosophy, University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee) March 2022 - March 2025
Bryan W. Roberts (Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method, London School of Economics) June 2013 - August 2024
Justin Sytsma (Philosophy Programme, Victoria University of Wellington) June 2013 - August 2024
David Teira (Dept. of Logic, History and Philosophy of Science, Universidad Nacional de Educación a Distancia) July 2018 - June 2024
C. Kenneth Waters (Dept. of Philosophy, University of Calgary) June 2013 - November 2023
David Wallace (Dept. of HPS and Philosophy, University of Pittsburgh) June 2020 - May 2023
Andrea Woody (Editor-in-Chief, Philosophy of Science, ex officio; Dept. of Philosophy, University of Washington) July 2017 -

Officers of the Board

Executive Committee: Zvi Biener (Editor-in-Chief), Sabina Leonelli (Communication), and Bryan Roberts (Website)
Coordinator of PhilMath-Archive: Elaine Landry
Conferences and Volumes: Michael Miller
Editorial Chair: Michael Miller
Promotions and Outreach: Julia Bursten
Website Quality: Justin Sytsma
Open Access Journal Support: David Tiera
Coalitions S. Support: David Tiera
Advisor to the Archive Manager: William Penn
Consultants to the Archive Manager: Gal Ben-Porath, Nuhu Osman Attah

Archive Manager

Harrison Payne

Constitution of the Archive Board

  1. The Board is comprised of philosophers of science with recognized standing in the profession.

  2. The number of members on the Board is determined by the need to:

    • provide sufficient members for the Officer positions listed above and, to discharge other Board duties, including the moderation of submissions to the archive, and to provide a sufficient pool of candidates on the Board for future leadership roles.
    • provide good representation of the profession.

  3. Board members are appointed for three year, renewable terms. Membership of the Board and extension of membership term is by invitation from a consensus of current Board members.

  4. The Board’s Executive Committee consists of an Editor-in-Chief and two board members whose terms are staggered. Each is appointed for a renewable three year term by a consensus of current Board members.

  5. Four Board members are:

    • a member of the Governing Board of the Philosophy of Science Association, appointed ex officio.
    • the editor-in-chief or an associate editor of the journal Philosophy of Science, appointed ex officio.
    • the Director of the Center for Philosophy of Science, University of Pittsburgh, appointed ex officio.
    • Coordinator, PhilMath-Archive, appointed ex officio

Duties of Officers and Staff

Executive Committee: Responsible for the good functioning and coordination of all archive activities.

Editor-in-Chief: Responsible for the good functioning and coordination of the activities of the executive committee and editorial chairs; supervising Archive staff, including the Archive Manager; and arranging financial support.

Conferences and Volumes: Responsible for the soliciting and maintenance of the conferences and volumes section and the preparation of combined volumes as PDF files.

Editorial Chairs: Chair discussion concerning moderation of submissions to the archive.

Promotions and Outreach: Responsible for maintaining visibility of the archive and encouraging wider usage in the philosophy of science profession.

Website Quality: Responsible for oversight of the academic and editorial content of the PhilSci-Archive and the user experience.

Open Access Journal Support: Responsible for maintaining relationships with open access journals currently echoed by the Archive and exploring additional journals for inclusion in the Archive.

Coalition S. Support: Responsible for Ensuring that Philosophers of science are receiving adequate support subject to the new Coalition S. initiative.

Archive Manager: Responsible for daily editorial activities, including initial phases of moderation, responding to user queries, keeping records of posting activities and implementing routine maintenance. The manager holds the only remunerated position.

Advisor to the Archive Manager: Assists a new Archive Manager in learning the technical details of archive management and consults on any other matters where past experience as an Archive Manager is helpful. This position is filled when needed.

PhilSci-Archive Consultant: Provides technical assistance to the Archive Manager. This position is filled when needed.

Coordinator, PhilMath-Archive: Responsible for oversight of the operation of PhilMath-Archive. Supervises the moderation of preprints posted to PhilMath-Archive.

Contact Information

Any correspondence concerning this specific archive should be sent to

System Information

This site is powered by EPrints 3, free software developed by the University of Southampton.